

Barack Obama Presidential Library

Systematic Scanning Cover Sheet Per Folder

Collection: Calligraphy Office, White House

Series: General Files

Container Number: Legal Hollinger 71880

- **Folder ID:** 50123
- **Folder Title:** Printed Materials [Program for the presentation of] The National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, 10/21/2011 [3 copies]
- Systematic File Name: t068887811-050123-71880



THE PRESIDENT

welcomes you to

THE WHITE HOUSE

on the occasion of the presentation of

THE NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE

AND

THE NATIONAL MEDAL OF TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION



Friday, October 21, 2011

Congratulations to this year's recipients of the National Medal of Science and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation. Your extraordinary discoveries have helped expand our limits and advance both the cause and the frontiers of science.

Your achievements stand as a testament to your ingenuity, zeal for discovery, and willingness to give of yourself in order to expand the reach of human understanding. From genetics to manufacturing, from agriculture to renewable energy, and from aeronautical safety to rocket science, your pioneering research has improved countless lives, shaped the future of our Nation, and inspired the next generation of doers and makers.

Maintaining our leadership across all fields of science and technology is an imperative not only for America's future prosperity and national security but also for our cultural and social progress. The American spirit of innovation and scientific inquiry—and its implicit promise of progress—is one of our greatest national resources, and it enables us all to enjoy more fruitful lives.

Congratulations again on your tremendous accomplishments. I wish you all the best for continued success.

President Barack Obama

PROGRAM

Remarks by

The President

Presentation of Medals

Reception to follow

2010 NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE LAUREATES

JACQUELINE K. BARTON

California Institute of Technology

For discovery of a new property of the DNA helix, long-range electron transfer, and for showing that electron transfer depends upon stacking of the base pairs and DNA dynamics. Her experiments reveal a strategy for how DNA repair proteins locate DNA lesions and demonstrate a biological role for DNA-mediated charge transfer.

RALPH L. BRINSTER

University of Pennsylvania

For his fundamental contributions to the development and use of transgenic mice. His research has provided experimental foundations and inspiration for progress in germline genetic modification in a range of species, which has generated a revolution in biology, medicine, and agriculture.

Shu Chien

University of California, San Diego

For pioneering work in cardiovascular physiology and bioengineering, which has had tremendous impact in the fields of microcirculation, blood rheology and mechanotransduction in human health and disease.

RUDOLF JAENISCH

Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For improving our understanding of epigenetic regulation of gene expression: the biological mechanisms that affect how genetic information is variably expressed. His work has led to major advances in our understanding of mammalian cloning and embryonic stem cells.

2010 NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE LAUREATES

PETER J. STANG

University of Utah

For his creative contributions to the development of organic supramolecular chemistry and for his outstanding and unique record of public service.

RICHARD A. TAPIA

Rice University

For his pioneering and fundamental contributions in optimization theory and numerical analysis and for his dedication and sustained efforts in fostering diversity and excellence in mathematics and science education.

SRINIVASA S. R. VARADHAN

New York University

For his work in probability theory, especially his work on large deviations from expected random behavior, which has revolutionized this field of study during the second half of the twentieth century and become a cornerstone of both pure and applied probability. The mathematical insights he developed have been applied in diverse fields including quantum field theory, population dynamics, finance, econometrics, and traffic engineering.

2010 NATIONAL MEDAL OF TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION LAUREATES

RAKESH AGRAWAL

Purdue University

For an extraordinary record of innovations in improving the energy efficiency and reducing the cost of gas liquefaction and separation. These innovations have had significant positive impacts on electronic device manufacturing, liquefied gas production, and the supply of industrial gases for diverse industries.

B. JAYANT **B**ALIGA

North Carolina State University

For development and commercialization of the Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor and other power semiconductor devices that are extensively used in transportation, lighting, medicine, defense, and renewable energy generation systems.

C. DONALD BATEMAN

Honeywell

For developing and championing critical flight-safety sensors now used by aircraft worldwide, including ground proximity warning systems and wind-shear detection systems.

YVONNE C. BRILL

RCA Astro Electronics (Retired)

For innovation in rocket propulsion systems for geosynchronous and low earth orbit communication satellites, which greatly improved the effectiveness of space propulsion systems.

MICHAEL F. TOMPSETT

TheraManager

For pioneering work in materials and electronic technologies including the design and development of the first charge-coupled device (CCD) imagers.

THE NATIONAL MEDAL OF SCIENCE

The National Medal of Science is the Nation's highest scientific honor. Established by Congress in 1959 and administered by the National Science Foundation, it is bestowed annually by the President of the United States on individuals deserving of special recognition for their outstanding contributions in biology, chemistry, geology, physics, mathematics, sociology, behavioral and economic sciences, and engineering. In 1963, President John F. Kennedy awarded the first Medal of Science — to the late Theodore Von Karman, then professor emeritus at the California Institute of Technology. Since then, more than four hundred sixty individuals have been awarded the Medal of Science. An independent presidentially appointed committee of scientists and engineers reviews nominations and makes its recommendations to the President, who selects the laureates.



THE NATIONAL MEDAL OF TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is the Nation's highest award for technological achievement. It recognizes American innovators whose vision, intellect, creativity, and determination have made profound and lasting contributions to our economy and quality of life. Established by the Congress and administered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office within the Department of Commerce, more than one hundred eighty Medals have been awarded to individuals, team members, and companies since the first Medal of Technology was presented in 1985 by President Ronald Reagan. An independent committee representing both private and public sectors evaluates the merits of all candidates nominated through an open, competitive solicitation process. The committee forwards its recommendations to the Secretary of Commerce, who makes recommendations to the President for final decision.

